BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation October 3, 2019

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on October 3, 2019 at 6:30 PM in the administration building. Members present were Corey Potts, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no changes to the Agenda.

Minutes for the September 12, 2019 Board Meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the 2020 Budget as presented at the September Budget Hearing per Ordinance 2019-4. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the 2020 Budget, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the 2020 Bus Replacement Plan (5-Year Plan) as presented at the Budget Hearing. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adopt the 2020 Bus Replacement Plan, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the 2020 Capital Projects Plan (5-Year Plan) as presented at the Budget Hearing. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Connie Smith to adopt the 2020 Capital Projects Plan, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The Public Hearing for the Tentative Agreement for the 2019-2020 Teacher Contract was held. There were no public comments on the Agreement.

Mr. Roeder recommended Rick Scholl for Boys' Youth Basketball and Abby Friend for Girls' Youth Basketball for 2019-2020. He also recommended volunteer coaches Mike Elliott, Brent Bascom, and Teresa White. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a resignation letter from Hannah LeMasters, paraprofessional. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to accept the resignation, members voted

as follows: Aye – Commie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder requested permission to fill the vacated paraprofessional position as soon as possible keeping the Board informed of the progress. By consensus, the Board granted permission.

Mr. Roeder discussed the 2020-2021 school calendar. Mr. Roeder asked the staff to vote between 3 options for the 2020-2021 school calendar. He presented the votes to the Board, and 64% of the staff voted for Option #1 which keeps a two week fall break and moves away from Parent/Teacher Conferences. This is due to the fact that parents have constant access to their students' grades and discipline through Class Dojo and Powerschool. Also parents can request a conference with a teacher at any time during the school year. Mr. Roeder recommended Option #1 to the Board. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the 2020-2021 school calendar, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder discussed the electric bill at OCEMS. He stated the electric bill that was paid in October, 2018 was \$8,766. In 2019, the electric bill for that same time period was \$919. This drastic reduction is due to the solar panels that were installed at OCEMS as part of the Energy Savings Project.

There was no Executive Session.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adjourn the meeting at 6:45 PM, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.