BOARD of FINANCE MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 9, 2020

The Board of Finance meeting of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation was held as advertised on January 9, 2020 at 6:00 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present were AJ Boes, Shanda Boes, Jimmy Boes, Yvonne Walton, and Noel Bostic.

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Board recognized AJ Boes as the 2020 recipient of the Lilly Endowment Scholarship. The Lilly Scholarship pays full tuition to any Indiana college.

Mr. Roeder acted as temporary chairman to accept nominations for officers of the 2020 Board of Finance. Renee Cole nominated Corey Potts as president, Gary Kinnett as vice-president, and Connie Smith as secretary. The motion was seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick. Members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder noted there were no investments to review.

Mr. Roeder presented a newly released report from the DUAB team. This shows the corporation's financial health pertaining to certain indicators created by this team.

	Upon mo	tion by	Andrea K	irkpatricl	k and seco	onded by	Rene	e Cole to	adjourn	the me	eting	at 6:05
P.M.,	members	voted	as follow	s: Aye -	- Connie	Smith,	Gary	Kinnett,	Renee	Cole,	and	Andrea
Kirkpa	atrick.											
						_						
						_						

BOARD MINUTES

Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 9, 2020

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on January 9, 2020 at 6:05 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present was Noel Bostic.

Mr. Roeder requested adding two items to the agenda. They are Resolution 2020-2 and 2020-3. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to add Resolution 2020-2 to the agenda, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to add Resolution 2020-3 to the agenda, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

High School Principal, Noel Bostic, gave a presentation on the new High School Pathways Diploma.

Minutes for December 12, 2019 meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

Claims were reviewed. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett.

Connie Smith motioned that the officers for the School Board for 2020 should be the same as those for the Board of Finance. Upon second by Renee Cole to approve the motion, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett.

The Superintendent recommended appointing Kelli Keith as Board Treasurer and Rita Scudder as Deputy Treasurer for 2020, a state required action. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

Members signed Conflict of Interest Statements which are on file.

Mr. Roeder recommended voiding two outstanding checks that are over two years old. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder recommended that the mileage rate for 2020 remain the same as per the IRS approved rate of 58 cents per mile. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder presented the following list of treasurer bonds for Board approval.

Ronna Billingsley - \$50,000

Debbie Gregory - \$50,000 Kelli Keith (School) - \$500,000 Kelli Keith (SISIC) - \$200,000 Karen Lovern - \$50,000 Rita Scudder - \$250,000 Tracy Stegemiller - \$50,000 Aryn Webster - \$50,000

Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the bonds, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

By consensus, members agreed the Board meetings for 2020 be held on the second Thursday of each month.

Mr. Roeder recommended Corey Lay as the high school girls' C-team basketball coach. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder recommended Jamie Works, Lindsey Merica, and Amberly King as the 8th grade/trip sponsors. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder requested permission to hire for a position that may come open soon due to a resignation. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick for Mr. Roeder to accept the resignation, post the position, and hire before the next meeting, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett. Mr. Roeder will keep the Board informed if this becomes necessary.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2020-1 which grants the treasurer the ability to move appropriations within the same fund as needed for 2020. (Copy attached) Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve Resolution 2020-1, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder requested permission to advertise for RFP's for a new playground. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to grant permission to accept RFP's, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2020-2 which states that 14.9% of the state tuition support be transferred from the Education Fund to the Operations Fund one time per month. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve Resolution 2020-2, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder presented Resolution 2020-3 which transfers \$25,000 from the Education Fund to the Rainy Day Fund and \$40,000 from the Operations Fund to the Rainy Day Fund. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve Resolution 2020-3, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder gave updates on several projects including the high school's Early College Certification, the new weight room equipment at the high school funded by the Rising Sun Regional Foundation, the possibility of replacing interior locks at both schools if a grant is approved, and the new fire alarm system that has been installed in both school buildings.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adjourn the meeting at 40 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Garkinnett.								