BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation October 5, 2017

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on October 5, 2017 at 6:38 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Corey Potts, and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

Minutes from the September 19, 2017 board meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed, and the superintendent gave an update of the account balances. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye –Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended the following for extracurricular positions:

Chris Jones $-2^{nd} - 6^{th}$ Grade Boys' Intramural Basketball Abby Friend $-2^{nd} - 6^{th}$ Grade Girls' Intramural Basketball Jamey Romans - Middle School Softball Jon LeMasters - Middle School Baseball

Youth League Volunteers:

Mark Corbin Dan Mossburger
Andrew Kaiser Teresa White
Cory Morris Wayne Siekman
Nathan Garland Mike Elliott

Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a 2.5% salary increase for all non-bargaining employees. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent recommended adoption of the ratified contract approved by the OCCTA and the Administration. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to accept the recommendation with clarification and corrections on page 28, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the Rainy Day Fund, General Fund Referendum Fund, General Fund, Capital Projects Fund, Debt Service Fund, Transportation Fund, and Bus Replacement Fund as presented for the 2018 budget. Mr. Roeder noted that there were no letters of remonstrance. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to accept the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent recommended adoption of the Capital Projects and Bus Replacement Plans as presented. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to accept the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the School Improvement Plans as presented. After a brief discussion as to charting the student growth, upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the 2018-2019 school calendar choices and recommended the calendar with the two week fall break that was supported by the majority of the staff. Upon motion Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the recommended calendar, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Board President Corey Potts and board members expressed their gratitude to the hard working staff and support staff for the School Accountability Grades, especially the middle and high schools for the A rating.

The next tentative date for the Board meeting will be November 9th at 6:30 PM.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

	-	
_		