## BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation November 11, 2021

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on November 11, 2021 at 6:37 P.M. in the Administration Building. Members present were Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

Meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The agenda was presented for adoption. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the agenda as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The minutes from the October 21, 2021 meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The claims were presented for approval. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Ryan McAlister and Kurtis Armstrong as basketball volunteers. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented resignations from Sonja Southard, middle school teacher, Lindsey Merica, middle school volleyball coach, Dionne Pittenger OCEMS cafeteria worker, and Roxanna Ferrari HS cafeteria worker. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the resignations, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Emmalea Musselman to fill the middle school teacher position. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Emily Warner as MS student council sponsor. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended MS cheer supplemental contracts for Lindsey Merica and Ryleigh McAlister for \$500.00 each. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a salary scale revision to reflect that full-time subs qualify for raises each year. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a revision to the classified handbook reflecting classified staff must work 120 days in the prior year to qualify for a raise. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by

Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a revision to the Student Handbook reflecting a new policy regarding vaping effective immediately. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended purchasing a new driver's education vehicle. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

The next school board meeting will be December 9, 2021.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to adjourn the meeting at 6:54 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.