BOARD of FINANCE MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 9, 2024

The Board of Finance meeting of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation was held as advertised on January 9, 2024 at 5:00 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Corey Potts, and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mr. Roeder acted as temporary chairman to accept nominations for officers of the 2024 Board of Finance. Connie Smith nominated Corey Potts as President of the Board of Finance for 2024, Renee Cole as Vice-President for 2024, and Connie Smith as Secretary for 2024. (Same as 2023) Members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder noted there were no investments to review.

Mr. Roeder provided the Board with the Fiscal and Qualitative Indicators.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to adjourn the meeting at 5:05 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

BOARD MINUTES

Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 9, 2024

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on January 9, 2024 at 5:05 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Corey Potts, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the agenda adding NEOLA First Reading, Approval of NEOLA revisions, and Classified Salary Update. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the agenda, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Minutes for December 12 and December 26, 2023 meetings were reviewed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Connie Smith motioned that the officers for the School Board for 2024 should be the same as those for the Board of Finance. Upon second by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the motion, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent recommended appointing Kelli Keith as Board Treasurer and Karen Lovern as Deputy Treasurer for 2024, a state required action. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Members signed Conflict of Interest Statements for 2024 which are on file.

Mr. Roeder recommended voiding of outstanding checks from the Corporation and Ohio County Elementary Middle School that are over two years old. (Attached) Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended that the mileage rate for 2024 change to .67 cents per mile which is the same as the IRS approved rate per mile. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the following list of treasurer bonds for Board approval.

Rebecca Lawwill - \$50,000 Kelli Keith - \$500,000 Morgan Westrich - \$50,000 DeAnn Lillie - \$50,000 Karen Lovern - \$250,000 Aryn Webster - \$50,000

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the bonds, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

After a brief discussion, the board decided that the 2024 board meetings will be held the second Tuesday of each month at 5:00 P.M . Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye-Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Mary Case as a paraprofessional at RSHS. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2024-1 which grants the treasurer the ability to move appropriations within the same fund as needed for 2024. (Copy attached) Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve Resolution 2024-1, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2024-2 which allows a maximum 14.9% of the state tuition support to be transferred from the Education Fund to the Operations Fund if needed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve Resolution 2024-2, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the new NEOLA policies for a first reading.

Mr. Roeder recommended approval of revisions to the existing NEOLA policies. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended approval of the Classified Employee Salary Schedule updates. (On File) Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

By consensus, the next scheduled board meeting will be February 13, 2024 at 5:00 P.M.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to adjourn the meeting at 5:20 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

_____ _____ _____ ____ _ _