## BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation November 8, 2022

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on November 8, 2022 at 5:30 P.M. in the RSHS library. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Beth Terrill, and Noel Bostic were also present.

Meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Connie Smith made a motion to adopt the agenda as presented, and it was seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick. Members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Corey Potts and Renee Cole.

There were no public comments.

The minutes from the September 27, 2022 meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Claims, funds and payroll expenditures were reviewed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the claims, funds and payroll expenditures as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Mark Corbin, Adam Keith, and Mike Elliott as volunteer youth basketball coaches. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Tara Roeder for 7<sup>th</sup> grade girls' basketball coach, Jeff Oser Jr. as 7<sup>th</sup> grade boys' basketball coach, and Chris Kelly as co-coach 7<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> boys' basketball. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended accepting the resignation of Kelsey Pickett, MS custodian and Nani Schwier, Speech Language Pathologist. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Ethan Snelling as a paraprofessional at OCEMS. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder also recommended Hannah Rose as Speech Language Pathologist. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a new job posting at the superintendent's office. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended the transfer of 16 <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> sick days from Nani Schwier to Amberly King. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder also recommended adding the above new job position at the superintendent's office to the Classified Salary Scale. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Bostic presented to the Board how the Early College program has evolved at RSHS.

Mr. Roeder invited the school board to the annual IAPSS ceremony in Indianapolis on December 1, 2022.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to adjourn the meeting at 5:50 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

\_\_\_\_\_